“Bloom’s Hierarchy” Vis – a – Vis “Maslow’s Hierarchy”

Bloom’s Taxonomy, the commonly applied theory of learning, which begins with the lower order of learning (Remembering and Understanding) and goes up to the highest order of Evaluating and Creating.

In the process of learning, motivation is one of the key factors that affects one’s learning. The more motivated one is, the higher level of learning is achieved. When it comes to motivation, Maslow’s Need Hierarchical Pyramid explains the levels of needs that every human works to satisfy. The theory is applied in understanding human motivation, needs and behavior, in the society by sociologists, at work place by management professionals, by advertisers to grab the attention of relevant audience and by psychologists and behavioral scientists.

Let us, as Academicians/ Trainers, analyze Bloom’s Hierarchy Pyramid in the perspective of Maslow’s Need Hierarchy. In both the hierarchies, one can reach the higher level only when one has the lower levels satisfied/accomplished. Refer to the linking diagram below.

Bloom and Maslow.jpg

The first level in both the hierarchies is the basic/foundational need. As one needs basic food, shelter and clothing to grow to higher levels of need-satisfaction in life, an individual needs to remember what is taught to move to the higher levels of learning. This is the first level of need in the learning process.

The second level is the sense of security and stability. Considering how satisfying the needs of employment, good health and monetary needs gives one a sense of safety and security in life, having an ability to comprehend the information that we remember gives one a sense of security and stability in the process of learning. This is the second level of need in the learning process.

The third level is the sense of connection and passion. Just as one gets connected with one’s environment and takes responsibility and ownership of one’s roles in relationships, one feels similar connection while applying and analyzing the information and feels passionate about learning. This is the third level of need in the learning process.

The fourth level is the sense of achievement. In this level, one needs to have the motivation, self-confidence and a drive for achieving. In the same way to be able to evaluate knowledge/understanding, one needs to possess self-confidence and sense of achievement in the field of knowledge. This is the fourth level of need in the learning process.

The fifth level is spontaneity, creativity and morality. One is considered to have the highest level of motivation when one is awakened to one’s own inner strength, and takes spontaneous decisions. Similarly, to reach the highest level of learning and contribute new ideas to the area of knowledge, one needs to be creative, spontaneous and have awareness of one’s capabilities and strengths. This is the fifth level of need in the learning process.

Universities and workplaces can utilize this combination of hierarchical theories for good/ better performances and results.

*Published in MSRUAS Newsletter

1 thought on ““Bloom’s Hierarchy” Vis – a – Vis “Maslow’s Hierarchy””

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s